shutout14cf is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Database Design

I am new to Access and am working on a project where I need to periodically import a list of companies and their respective information (i.e. company name, revenue, net growth, location, etc.) from excel.

My boss wants me to import these lists and create fields he can check if the company is already a client of ours or a "trash" company that we aren't interested in.

The problem is that he wants to be able to update these lists every six months or so (as the information about each company changes), but doesn't want to have to re-check companies he has previously marked as "client" or "trash".

What is the best way to go about setting this kind of database up?
    Thanks

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Welcome to the forum!

What I would recommend is to set up an appropriate table structure first. Then import the data into another table and then migrate only the info you want from the imported table into your table structure. You can have your boss go through the data and flag what he wants and what he does not want. At no time should you ever change that flag when you do future import relative to the company. I would never delete any records.

In terms of revenue and net growth, I would recommend appending new data as new records rather than updating an existing record. This will allow you to accummulate a history of the company from which you can observe trends. Depending on the trend, your boss may re-evaluate his initial evaluation.

With that said, setting up the appropriate table structure is the most critical step of a successful relational database application. In order to set up the structure, you need to evaluate what information you will be capturing both now and looking ahead somewhat as well. Then you have to evaluate that information to determine how it is related.