Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    crimson is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11

    Dictionary/translator

    Hi guys,
    Since few days I'm trying to create a simple dictionary. To do that, I imported a sheet from within Excel consisting of two columns. The first column is filled with words in my native language, second with their English translation. Afterwards I created a form with combo boxes where I can choose the desired word. In the first box I can choose the words in Polish, in the second their English translations. I would like the form to work in such way, that when I choose the Polish word in the first box, in the second box I immediately see its English translation and the same thing the other way around. Could someone please guide me how to do this. I'm struggling with this since last week and I can't get it to work This is my first contact with MS Access so please be patient with me

    Thanks in advance for your help


    Regards

    P.S
    I apologize for my poor English

  2. #2
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 2K Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664


    Attached is an Access 2003 (A2K3) mdb with one example of how you could make a translation form.

    There is one table and one form (with code behind the form). First look at the table. Then look at the combo box. Then look at the code.

    If you have questions, post back.

    HTH
    -----
    Steve
    --------------------------------
    "Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
    (I came; I saw; I stuck around.)


    PS
    Don't worry about your English - it is very good. I didn't have any problem understanding your question.

  3. #3
    crimson is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    ssanfu,
    Thanks for your help, it worked prefectly. I was thinking to use two combo boxes, but your idea is better
    There was only one small bug in the source code of your form. Instead of:
    Me.Combo0.RowSource = "SELECT SELECT Polish, English FROM Trans ORDER BY Polish;"
    there should be:
    Me.Combo0.RowSource = "SELECT Polish, English FROM Trans ORDER BY Polish;"

    There was a double "SELECT" entry and because of that Access was returning an error when I was switching back to "Polish to English" from "English to Polish".
    Thanks again for your help. I will post back if I will have some additional problems.

    Regards

  4. #4
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 2K Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    Quote Originally Posted by crimson View Post
    ssanfu,
    <snip>
    Me.Combo0.RowSource = "SELECT SELECT Polish, English FROM Trans ORDER BY Polish;"
    there should be:
    Me.Combo0.RowSource = "SELECT Polish, English FROM Trans ORDER BY Polish;"

    There was a double "SELECT" entry and because of that Access was <snip>

    Sorry , I used other field/table names, then once it was working, I changed the names to make it clearer and easier to convert to your field/table names. I fell victim to the "Cut and Paste bug".

    Or maybe I need to learn how to read......

  5. #5
    crimson is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11
    Don't worry, It can happen I'm glad that you didn't have any problems in understanding my question hehe

    Regards

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Color Translator
    By pkstormy in forum Code Repository
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 01:47 AM
  2. Data dictionary
    By Rohit0012 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 03:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums