rajgoyal00 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)

Microsoft Access Relations Ships and Forms

I am struggling to make this happen and cant seem to get anywhere. Hopefully Someone here can help me.

I am creating a database for a retail store.

- I have a table (Vendor List) that stores information about my vendors (Fields: ID (PrimaryKey), DataVal(DateVendor Added), Vendor Name(Text), Address(text), and so on).

- I have a table (Purchases) to enter my purchases on a particular date for Vendors and the amount so (Fields: ID(Primary Key), DateVal(date), Vendor Name, Amount)

What I want to do is create a form with a purchase date, (Combo Box) to choose a vendor from a drop down list (Vendor Name from table Vendor list) and enter an amount for the particular vendor and a description field for that purchase from that vendor. I want to have multiple entries for that date (as many vendors can supply on one day) on the same form.
    How is that possible. I am new to access and don't know much about setting up relationships. Any help will be appreciated. I can also be emailed at rajgoyal00@gmail.com.

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    I would start by naming your ID fields something useful like VendorID and PurchaseID. Then your Purchases table should have the VendorID rather than the VendorName. That is your 1:m relationship.

Quote Originally Posted by RuralGuy View Post
    I would start by naming your ID fields something useful like VendorID and PurchaseID. Then your Purchases table should have the VendorID rather than the VendorName. That is your 1:m relationship.