gr8rishe04 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Query Design help for Food Pantry dbase

I am fairly proficient in creating databases; however, I am a bit of a novice when it comes to intermediate/advanced query building. Hope someone can help.

I have a database that is used to keep records of our food pantry clients. The database includes name and address information, in addition to household size, ages of children, and individual dates when food was given.

I am trying to come up with a query (or formula?) that will provide me with the number of households that received food in a particular month. There may be other queries I would like to do on the dates at a later time, but the problem I have is figuring out the syntax.

Each date field is separate because some households may have visited our food pantry once, some five times, others 20 times, etc. So, I'm thinking in my mind that I would need to do some kind of IF statement, like:

IF Dates_Food_Given + Dates_Food_Given2 + Dates_Food_Given3... + Dates_Food_Given30 = '11/01/2010' thru '11/30/2010' then count.

I know the syntax is not correct, but that is part of my problem; I'm not familiar with the proper syntax. I am VERY rusty in this regard. So, I hope I wasn't too unclear in my explanation. I just am not sure if I need to type out all of the date fields, which could be very cumbersome since there are 30 of them and if I need to include anything else in my formula

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

LillMcGill is offline Dagny fan
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    You are feeling the effects of having a database that is not normalized. Sorry, but please consider a remake of the database. Having 30 date fields that should be one field is always going to be a continual source of stress, and will make everything 10 times harder than it should be.