biscuit07238 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2019

Question New user, need help with simple Table set up

I don't know if I what I want to do can be done. It seems simple but maybe it's not just part of the program. I'm VERY VERY new to this so please if you have a solution put it in layman's terms as I am still familiarizing myself with the layout and terminology associated with the program.

To best explain what I'm trying to do I'm going to simplify it using a sports analogy.

Every Baseball team is part of a league and part of a division in that league.

When Setting up a table I would like to have Access auto fill some of my fields based on what is put in another field. For Example. If I type "Braves" in my team field, I would want it to auto fill League with "National" and Division with "East" Ideally if I had multiple tables, I would like then all to do the same, so if at any point I have a team field on any table it would fill in the rest the same way. Is this option available to me? Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Yes, that is doable, but you generally would not store those values as you can look them up any time. That changes if the values might change, like the discount for a customer on an order.
    You really should look at the Northwind new DB. https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...5-0714ca8dc1e2

I would probably have a combo where I would select the team and that combo would have additional columns that I would use to populate text controls.
    You would need to get your data structure correct first though.
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016