CP611 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Drop downs that link together in Forms

I have limited Access knowledge but I'm trying to build a very basic form where there are 5 fields. I've used Combo boxes so 2 of the fields are drop downs from 2 other tables. However I want the second drop down to be dependent on the first as I'm going to have a lot of data in this database and want to segment it so when I click on the second drop down it won't bring up everything, just what is associated from the first table. Thanks

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    the query of combo2 (cities) looks at combo1 (states) to filter.
    cboCity query = qsCities1State
    qsCities1State : select City from table where [state]=forms!fMyForm!cboState

you just need to refresh the next box after user picks an item in the combo...

Code:
    sub cboState_AfterUpdate()
     cboCity.requery
    end sub

CP611 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    hi there, thank you for your reply. I really have very limited knowledge, where would I put this code, in the form? I am basically creating a stock inventory database and have a list of products and then a category associated with those products in a table, then another table which has all the stock in/stock out transactions. I've created a form from this transactions table but want to have a drop down of category and then the second drop down where you select the stock to be taken from will be based on the category thats in the products table. thank you!

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Quote Originally Posted by CP611 View Post