Jboshear is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Porting my broken MS Access 2003 App to MS Access 2016

Note: I am not a professional programmer. I just learn what I need in order to get a specific job done. I am that Jack of All Trades you may have heard of.

I have worked for a custom cabinetry company since early 2001.

One of the first things I did when I hired in was create an MS Access program to generate the paperwork needed run a job through Assembly into Finishing and finally Installation.

I used the Users login feature Access had at that time. At some point along the way the program crashed and we lost the login function. However, we can still use the program I just can't upgrade because if I make changes and try to save them it fails and tells me I am not logged in.

Now I really need to enhance the program so we bought MS Access 2016. My plan was to recreate the program from scratch. I originally designed it with a Front End and a Back End. The Back End is fine I just need to recreate the Front End.

Let me cut to the chase. I have a form with about 15 pulldowns and each pulldown is associated with a subForm. For example one pulldown is for Crown Molding. We have about 8 different styles of crown molding so when you select a style from the pulldown a picture of the profile shows up in a field below the pulldown.

That works on the old program but not the new version.

When I look at the event properties of the pulldown in the old program I have:

After Update: =CPR("Crown")

On Change: =WFEvt(0)

On Exit: =WFEvt(1)

When I put those parameters into the new program I get these errors:

The Expression After Update you entered as the Event Property setting produced the following error: User-defined type not defined.

The Expression may not result in the name of a macro, the name of a user-defined function, or [event procedure].

There may have been an error evaluating the function, event or macro.