Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RJB2324 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Totals by month for table with multiple dates

I am new to Access and would like some advise on creating a monthly report showing totals for revenue and spend with different dates, where the totals are for the month the revenue or spend occurred.

The application I want to create is to track furniture restoration projects. I have two tables one for Furniture and the other Overheads (see attachment).
    I would like to create a report with Furniture Cost, Furniture Labour, Revenue etc. by month
    I am not a programmer but willing to try. Grateful for any advise. Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails MS Forum Attachment.jpg  

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    make a form, say frmRpts. On it have 2 text boxes for dates, txtStartDate, txtEndDate.
    When the user selects a begin and end dates, use some code to fill in the date boxes. (or manuall fill)

Then the base query Q1, that reads the boxs for criteria...
    select * from table where [DateEvent] between forms!frmRpts!txtSTartDate and forms!frmRpts!txtEndDate

now you can make another query , Q2, that sums Q1 data
    (the month or Qtr, etc)

make a report on Q2.

Hi
    Would 1 Customer only ever purchase 1 piece of furniture?
    You can PM me if you need further help.
    Good Reading https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/off...on-description

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    could really do with you explaining what the fields represent because it looks more like an excel approach rather than a database approach

a few questions:

are customers 'regular' or are they all 'one offs'?
    what is the relevance of 'date labour'? Surely these restorations can take more than a day?
    does the labour rate vary from job to job? if so, why?
    what about sundry materials? or are they insignificant?