Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 34 of 34
  1. #31
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ma.
    Posts
    1,656


    Quote Originally Posted by Monty51 View Post
    There is a "SetAppVersion" routine, but I didn't post it because I didn't want to go TOO far down the rabbit hole.

    Thanks for looking. I'm going to stop this thread because it's obvious I need to read a whole lot more. I have books coming that will help...I hope.
    You gonna leave us hanging?
    I'm almost certain what I posted is the reason.
    Did you run the procedure GasMan posted or the 2 debug.prints I posted? I'm positive you wont see appVersion listed as a property until you add it back.


    Here's what the database properties look like:
    Code:
    Name          C:\Users\...\Desktop\Working Databases\CodeRepo.accdb
    Connect       
    Transactions  True
    Updatable     True
    CollatingOrder               1033 
    QueryTimeout   60 
    Version       12.0
    RecordsAffected              0 
    ReplicaID     
    DesignMasterID              
    ANSI Query Mode              0 
    Themed Form Controls         1 
    Use Microsoft Access 2007 compatible cache               0 
    Clear Cache on Close         0 
    Never Cache    0 
    AccessVersion 09.50
    NavPane Category             0 
    Show Navigation Pane Search Bar            1 
    Build          720 
    ProjVer        119 
    HasOfflineLists              70 
    UseMDIMode     0 
    ShowDocumentTabs            True
    Picture Property Storage Format            0 
    WebDesignMode  0 
    CheckTruncatedNumFields      1 
    Theme Resource Name         Office Theme
    StartUpShowDBWindow         True
    StartUpShowStatusBar        True
    AllowShortcutMenus          True
    AllowFullMenus              True
    AllowBuiltInToolbars        True
    AllowToolbarChanges         True
    AllowSpecialKeys            True
    UseAppIconForFrmRpt         False
    AllowDatasheetSchema        True
    DesignWithData              True
    Show Values Limit            1000 
    Show Values in Indexed       1 
    Show Values in Non-Indexed   1 
    Show Values in Remote        0 
    Auto Compact   0 
    NavPane Closed               0 
    NavPane Width  215 
    NavPane View By              0 
    NavPane Sort By              1 
    StartUpForm   Form1
    appVersion    appVersion 2.0 2021
    I ran a slightly different version of Gasman's code. You'll notice that i added an "appVersion" property at the end with the value "appVersion 2.0 2021."


    here's my version to list properties, the difference from G'Man's being mine shows the properties value also.

    Code:
    Sub ListDBProperties()
        Dim db As DAO.Database
        Dim P As Property
    
    
        Set db = CurrentDb()
        For Each P In db.Properties
        On Error Resume Next
            Debug.Print P.Name, P.Value
        Next
        Set db = Nothing
    
    
    End Sub
    Welshgasman
    I would not get despondent.
    And think of it this way, You just learned a whole lot about database properties.
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  2. #32
    Monty51 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Welshgasman View Post
    Run this code on each db and compare the output.
    It might be obvious if you see something you recognise, like a copyright notice mentioned here
    http://allenbrowne.com/ser-09.html
    Code:
    Sub ListDBProperties()
    Dim db As DAO.Database
    Dim P As Property
    
    Set db = CurrentDb()
    For Each P In db.Properties
            Debug.Print P.Name
    Next
    Set db = Nothing
    
    End Sub

    I did something very similar, and by George, I learned a few things. The values I was looking for were in CurrentDb.Properties, namely AppVersion, but also AppTitle and AppDate. Searching through the code modules I couldn't find anything that set these vales, but I did find stuff that would change them. I took a closer look at the command line to invoke the DB and it uses a /profile switch with a very long hex number. Something like "/profile {very_long_hex_number}". Something told me to look through the system registry and sure enough, there were my values I was looking for. They were set on installation and picked up by the DB on start. I guess that's what the "/profile" statement does. I don't know. Literature on that is sparse. I have books coming that I hope will clear things up.

    Thanks for your suggestion, it revealed a lot!

  3. #33
    Monty51 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by moke123 View Post
    You gonna leave us hanging?
    I'm almost certain what I posted is the reason.
    Did you run the procedure GasMan posted or the 2 debug.prints I posted? I'm positive you wont see appVersion listed as a property until you add it back.


    Here's what the database properties look like:
    Code:
    Name          C:\Users\...\Desktop\Working Databases\CodeRepo.accdb
    Connect       
    Transactions  True
    Updatable     True
    CollatingOrder               1033 
    QueryTimeout   60 
    Version       12.0
    RecordsAffected              0 
    ReplicaID     
    DesignMasterID              
    ANSI Query Mode              0 
    Themed Form Controls         1 
    Use Microsoft Access 2007 compatible cache               0 
    Clear Cache on Close         0 
    Never Cache    0 
    AccessVersion 09.50
    NavPane Category             0 
    Show Navigation Pane Search Bar            1 
    Build          720 
    ProjVer        119 
    HasOfflineLists              70 
    UseMDIMode     0 
    ShowDocumentTabs            True
    Picture Property Storage Format            0 
    WebDesignMode  0 
    CheckTruncatedNumFields      1 
    Theme Resource Name         Office Theme
    StartUpShowDBWindow         True
    StartUpShowStatusBar        True
    AllowShortcutMenus          True
    AllowFullMenus              True
    AllowBuiltInToolbars        True
    AllowToolbarChanges         True
    AllowSpecialKeys            True
    UseAppIconForFrmRpt         False
    AllowDatasheetSchema        True
    DesignWithData              True
    Show Values Limit            1000 
    Show Values in Indexed       1 
    Show Values in Non-Indexed   1 
    Show Values in Remote        0 
    Auto Compact   0 
    NavPane Closed               0 
    NavPane Width  215 
    NavPane View By              0 
    NavPane Sort By              1 
    StartUpForm   Form1
    appVersion    appVersion 2.0 2021
    I ran a slightly different version of Gasman's code. You'll notice that i added an "appVersion" property at the end with the value "appVersion 2.0 2021."


    here's my version to list properties, the difference from G'Man's being mine shows the properties value also.

    Code:
    Sub ListDBProperties()
        Dim db As DAO.Database
        Dim P As Property
    
    
        Set db = CurrentDb()
        For Each P In db.Properties
        On Error Resume Next
            Debug.Print P.Name, P.Value
        Next
        Set db = Nothing
    
    
    End Sub

    And think of it this way, You just learned a whole lot about database properties.
    Well, not "hanging", but I can see this thread going way over my head for now. I'm trying to keep it relevant to my experience, sorry.

    Monty51

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    5,027
    Can you post the complete command line and a pic of the registry entry please.?

    I have not used properties in earnest, and just created/set manually once, so would be interested to see what was done.?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2020, 06:58 AM
  2. Item not found in this collection .Fields(x) property
    By ironfelix717 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2019, 10:53 PM
  3. Table suddenly says "Property Not Found"
    By templeowls in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2019, 08:45 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2019, 01:53 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-08-2012, 09:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums