RangerJeff is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

get value from main form to put in first record in subfomr

I am still new to access, so I might be just missing something here.

I have two tables, BoaterPermits and BoaterLocations with a one to many relationship. Ihave created a data entry form with BoaterPermits the main form and a subform for entering multiple locations.

When I enter the subform, I want to get the Entry_date from the main form and put it in the ArrivalDate field in the first record of the subform, or location records before entering the rest of the data for the location

I thought this would be simple, but can't get it right. I am hoping it is just a naming issue.

I tried this:

Private Sub Boater_Permit_Locations_V2_subform_Enter()

Me.[Boater_Permit_Locations V2 subform]![ArrivalDate] = Me.[boaterPermit subform V3]![Entry_date]

End Sub

but keep getting error message. I am not sure this is the best way, and open to suggestions.

Here is a picture of the two forms
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Boater Permit Form.png 
Views:	19 
Size:	53.7 KB 
ID:	42818

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    don't know which form is which or whether your code and event is correct but you need to use .form

Me.[Boater_Permit_Locations V2 subform].form.[ArrivalDate] = Me.[boaterPermit subform V3].form.[Entry_date]

Windows 10 Office 365
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajax View Post
    don't know which form is which or whether your code and event is correct but you need to use .form

Me.[Boater_Permit_Locations V2 subform].form.[ArrivalDate] = Me.[boaterPermit subform V3].form.[Entry_date]

Thanks Ajax

Here is some explanation. I am not expecting anyone to write the code, but I could really use some direction. I have tried a couple of different methods, so hoping someone and give me some hints.