ninachopper is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

help with filtering code

Hello,

I have all my data in a report and the report is set so that the user can not access design view or layout view.
    I am trying to work out a code where the user can double click on a record and it will automatically filter the report to the record they chose.
    Any help would be great! (I'm still a newbie)

Thanks !

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    This should work for you:

BaldyWeb wherecondition
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Windows XP Access 2007
    I tried to use this code for 'text' but everytime I clicked on a record, it prompted my computer to print out the whole report. Never opened up a new report with the filtered information. Any ideas?
    For the 'control name' , you mean the control for the field which I would be clicking on, right?

Thanks for your time!

Windows XP Access 2007
    Yes; ControlName would be the name of the textbox (or whatever) containing the value you want the report restricted to. FieldName would be the name of the field in the report's source. What is your exact code?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Windows XP Access 2007
    I was a little confused. Do I have to make a 2nd report in order for this to work? I was just hoping to use the same report and just minimize the data by filtering.

I have one field set up where it is a number field so you double click on any number, and a button(form) pops up where you can choose > = < and it filters the data right there on the original report.

The code I am using is:

Private Sub GREATER_Click()
    Reports("Noise Report").FilterOn = False
    Reports("NOISE REPORT").Filter = "[TWA] >= " & ORDERVAR
    Reports("Noise Report").FilterOn = True

DoCmd.Close acForm, Me.Name
    End Sub