kirstywing is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Absolute beginner qu - transferring a database

Apologies in advance for this very basic question. I have never used Access before.

I have recieved two databases from someone else, who also appears to not know very much about the software either!

I have recieved one file for each database, and another file that contains the user account information, and I had instructions for how to direct the software to that file so that the logins would work on my PC.

However, the first database is giving a runtime error saying it can't find a file in an icon folder on the network of the person that sent them to me (which obviously I'm not on), and the second database gave an error saying it couldn't find its connection to the first database, though it then fixed the connection by finding the database on my network. However even though it now opens, one of the drop down menus is now blank inside.

So, my question is, what files should you provide someone when you send them a database? Should I have a whole selection of folders, or just an icon folder (which I dont have, but have now asked for)? and what do I need to do to tell the databases to find these files correctly once I have them?

Any help appreciated, but non-tech speak please!
    Last edited by kirstywing; 09-06-2010 at 10:15 AM. Reason: typos

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Kirsty,

Be aware that asking someone for help by saying "non-tech speak" on a board like this probably won't be received well. Most people that answer posts are employed in the technology industry.

But at any rate, just thinking off the top of my head, here are some situations and what you might need if you're in them:

A SPLIT DB
    • both files
    • need to update linked table locations in FE (if linked to BE)

A DB WITH PICTURES
    • if they're linked, you need the picture files from the last programmer