Results 1 to 4 of 4

allow blank record in subform

  1. #1
    smg is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    35

    allow blank record in subform


    I would like my users to be able to input data in main form and have subform empty if necessary. This accomplished two things. 1. the ability to come back at a later time and enter subform info and 2. there are rare occurences of no subform info to input. Currently, when a user enters main form info without subform info, no info is recorded in any tables and no longer appears in form after leaving that record of the form.

  2. #2
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    13,687
    Hmmmm. Doesn't sound right.
    Please provide more details and sample database.
    I'd like to see your tables and relationships.

    Normally form/subform construct represents a 1 to 0,1,many between tables.
    For example,

    tPerson-->tChild(Children)

    a Person does not necessarily have a child/children. There would be no record of this Person in the tChild table.

    tPerson--->tHobby (same thing) 1 Person could have 4 hobbies, another 7 hobbies and another with 0 hobbies.

  3. #3
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    2,847
    Doesn't sound right, indeed! A Record being created in the Main Form of a Main Form/Subform configuration does require that a Record being entered in the Subform. You may see the Control holding Foreign Key Field populated by that data, as determined by the Main Form Record...but a Record in the Subform is not actually created unless some other Field is populated...no 'blank Record' is created.

    As orange said...more details and, preferably, a copy of your database, are needed for us to help you.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  4. #4
    Dave14867 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    192
    I was thinking the same thing but then thought maybe I just hadn't ran across such an occurrence, thanks for the sanity check Orange and Missinglinq

    Dave

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-12-2017, 04:00 AM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-16-2017, 03:52 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2017, 10:22 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-22-2012, 02:24 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 11:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums