alexllap is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Question Beginner trying to create something similar to a PivotTable

Hello everyone! I'm somewhat of a beginner here, but I'm pretty comfortable with Excel (formulas, macros, pivot tables, etc.), and I've been doing this process for the longest time in Excel, but it takes a lot of time, and someone suggested I try using Access.

So a little context: I work at a university and have about 200 students that I'm responsible for helping navigate their way through our program. It's often very helpful to see at a glance what courses students have taken and what they're currently registered for in a given quarter to see where gaps may exist in terms of having enough seats for everyone in an upcoming quarter/course. I usually download three pretty large tables. Most of these have something like 50 columns, but I'll give some very basic examples:

1. All current students and their general information

Row Count StudentNo Name
    1 111111 John Smith
    2 222222 Kevin Jones
    3 333333 Alicia Gray

2. All courses that students have ever taken and their grades

Row Count StudentNo Name YrQtr crsAbbrev crsNumber crsGrade
    1 111111 John Smith 2015-4 ENGL 100 2.7
    2 111111 John Smith 2015-4 CHEM 142 2.8
    3 111111 John Smith 2015-4 ENGL 101 3.3
    4 222222 Kevin Jones 2016-1 STAT 101 2.8
    5 222222 Kevin Jones 2016-1 PHIL 120 4.0
    6 333333 Alicia Gray 2016-1 ENGL 100 3.0
    7 333333 Alicia Gray 2016-2 ENGL 200 3.1
    8 333333 Alicia Gray 2016-2 BIOL 100 3.3

3. All courses that students are currently registered for

Row Count StudentNo Name YrQtr crsAbbrev crsNumber crsGrade
    1 111111 John Smith 2019-2 ENGL 200
    2 111111 John Smith 2019-2 ENGL 201
    3 222222 Kevin Jones 2019-2 ENGL 100
    4 222222 Kevin Jones 2019-2 CHEM 110
    5 333333 Alicia Gray 2019-2 ENGL 201