Cruxxix is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Lightbulb Noob with questions about a huge project and best place for training...

Hey all!

I'm pretty new to access DB and boy... is it kicking my butt!

I have a few questions...

Like I said I have a massive undertaking of a project to do. I want to build a centralized, computerized maintenance management system for my job. It's very intimidating and the courses I bought are almost to small for me to really get what I need to do. I feel like there has to be better training out there for access.

So... what I am really asking is,

1) Is Access good for such a massive job? Like... I'm trying to keep tabs on 500- 600 pieces of equipment that need lube services every 500hrs. So tracking service hours... incoming and outgoing equipment that someone else will be updating... other types of inventory such as parts, sea-cans, office shacks, etc... personnel contact list... CVIP/ insurance/ inspection expiry dates... And more...

I've tried finding some good info about this over the last few days and I can't really find any info. Just people saying that SQL on its own server is the way to go?

But I didn't see their reasons why...

I understand this is going to be lot's of tables, forms and when I'm ready queries and reports..... And this leads into my next question..

2) Is there a better place then Udemy to learn how to harness the power that is Access?!

Thanks for taking the time to read this and reply.

I appreciate any help that anyone can provide.

Best Regards,
    ~Cruxxix

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Access is certainly an appropriate tool for what you describe. Access has 2GB size limit which will hold a lot of data but not impossible to exceed.

Never heard of Udemy. There are many on-line tutorials, even some decent freebies. Google.

Review https://support.office.com/en-us/art...7-d254561f8bce