Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    daSpud is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Filter report using VBA

I am new to Access and cannot find an example for what I want to do.

I would like to run a report that reads a table record by record and triggers the detail band when certain complex criteria are met. I wanted to use VBA to examine each record and say yes or no. If yes then allow the detail to print. The fields to be printed are not directly in the table but are combinations of table fields.

I appreciate any clues as to what to do. None of the Events for the report seem to get triggered for each record. On Current only triggers when I click on a detail band of an unfiltered report.

Thank you.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Not sure how you're trying to complicate this....
    make a query that has all the tables needed, the report then uses this.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    I agree with using a query to filter the records, perhaps with VBA applied there. If it really needs to be done in the report, you can use the detail section's On Format event, toggling the Visible property of the detail section.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

daSpud is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    I agree with using a query to filter the records, perhaps with VBA applied there. If it really needs to be done in the report, you can use the detail section's On Format event, toggling the Visible property of the detail section.
    I don't want a query. I am taking over a project and there are tons of queries for every little thing. I would like to have one report with programming logic to determine the data content.

On Format does not trigger with each table entry. It goes through the entire report without stopping at the msgbox in On Format.