Jxsmith is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Time Entry with Input Mask

I'm setting up an input form, and a couple of the fields are times. I want to set up the form so that a user can just type "453" to get 4:53, but no matter what I think of, Access always populates the field as 45:3_. I'm using a mask: 90:00, and I've tried including every variation of "!" that I can come up with.

I'm new to Access, having previously used Excel & VBA for this sort of stuff, so nothing is intuitive.

Thanks

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    You haven't said what you have tried but I believe input masks require a predetermined number of characters. See this link https://support.office.com/en-us/art...2-4a47832de8da

You will need to train your users to input 0453

if you are planning to use this value in a calculation of some sort note that time is stored as a decimal value - the number of seconds for the time divided by the number of seconds in the day (86400) so 4:53 will be

((4*60*60)+(53*60))/86400=0.203

isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Input masks are often more of a nuisance than a help.

If, as you should be, you are using a form to enter the time, I suggest you use the method found on most phones these days.
    Have two combos -hours with all values from 0 to 23 and minutes with 0 to 59.
    Then use code to combine and display as 04:53 etc
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

Jxsmith is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Sorry, I think my original point was missed. I want Access to do what I want it to do, not change our functioning method of doing things to suit the program. If the solution to ‘train my users’ was acceptable then I could just do this in Excel.