Topflite66 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Ambiguous Outer Join Error

I'm fairly new to working with Access so please bare with me if it don't explain exactly what I am attempting. I have 4 tables that I am working with in a query, please see attachment. I have the tbl_Model set up as a one-to-many relationship with the tbl_VehicleDetails table. When I run the query it displays only the references in the Vehicle Details table with the associated Models. I would like create an outer join so that all of the data in the Model table displays even if there has not been an entry in the VehicleDetails table. When I right click on the Join Property Line and select option 2 for this to happen I receive an error message : The SQL Statement could not be executed because it contains ambiguous outer joins. I don't quite understand what that means. I've watched several videos accomplishing the same thing as what I am trying to do and theirs works. Please help. Here is the sql also:

PARAMETERS [Please Enter a Model Year] Text ( 255 );
    SELECT tbl_MdlYr.MdlYr, tbl_Model.Model, tbl_Model.ModelID
    FROM tbl_Model LEFT JOIN (tbl_MdlYr INNER JOIN (tbl_VehicleDetails INNER JOIN tbl_OrderDetails ON tbl_VehicleDetails.OrderID = tbl_OrderDetails.OrderID) ON tbl_MdlYr.MdlYrID = tbl_VehicleDetails.MdlYrID) ON tbl_Model.ModelID = tbl_VehicleDetails.ModelID
    GROUP BY tbl_MdlYr.MdlYr, tbl_Model.Model, tbl_Model.ModelID
    HAVING (((tbl_MdlYr.MdlYr)=[Please Enter a Model Year]));

Thank you
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Query.png  

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    yea, this is always a pain...
    if you have outer join w more than 2 tables, all joins must flow outer join in one direction.

you cant have the 1:1 join, change the join to 1:many. (many tOrderDetails)
    in your example, all data must flow right to left, 1 to many.

(even tho the relationship is 1:1, the altered join will still produce results)