sorensjp is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Creating my First Query (not very well)

All,

I’m an absolute Access novice in the US Navy currently stationed in Japan. I have some experience with Excel and now trying to move up to Databases. My goal (albeit very ambitious) is to create a better “Weapons Qualification” Tracker. The attached file C_VILLE MASTER GUN QUAL TRACKER (V0.91)PIVOT_TBL.xlsm. I created from an article from Excel MVP Trevor Easton web http://www.onlinepclearning.com/staf...xcel-database/. The password for the file is "Online".

Query – my first hurdle Ranks and Names. The attached Access DB file is what I’ve started with are just tables. And attempted to make Relationships. Here my goal is to understand how to make a cascading Form (don’t know the correct term). Ultimately, I would like to create a user Form to add, edit or delete the Members (Sailors). I just don’t understand how to setup the rank structures to build the base for the form. I could be going about this all wrong of course .

The Form needs to update a Members Rank without effecting the name:
    tbl2Enlisted_Officer_Pick determines if the member is Officer or Enlisted.
    tblRanks_Enlisted & tblRanks_Officer are the Rank and Pay Grades associated with the enlisted and officers respectively
    tbl1Member_Names is self-explanatory.

Eventually on the Enlisted Ranks I would like to add the feature of “Ratings” (i.e. BMC, BM1, BM2, HTC, MMC, STGCM, STGSC, STGC, STG1, STG2, STG3, STGSN, STGSA…).

I appreciate any advice. Access is interesting and has a great many more features then Excel (or at least I think so).

C_VILLE MASTER GUN QUAL TRACKER (V0.91)PIVOT_TBL.xlsm.zip
    ADMIN TRACKER.zip

V/r,
    Jim

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Welcome to the forum and thank you for your service.