Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    akbigcat86 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    17

    link between a continuous form's data and a more detailed form

    I have a continuous form that lists the basic data for a number of records. I also have a single form that has the more detailed data for the same records. Is there any way to make a hyperlink/command button of some sort that I can click on while looking through the continuous form that will send me to that same record in the more detailed single form?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    cowboy is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    291
    This is the code I have for a command button on click event from my continuous form. It sets a global variable with data from that specific record so it knows which form to open, this could be your primary key. Then set your other form to use the global variable as a way to determine what information it is displaying.

    This is only one way to do it, there are lots of other options.

    Code:
    Private Sub btnMonth_Click()
        gDteDate1 = Me.Text36.value
        DoCmd.Close
        DoCmd.OpenForm "f_Month"
    End Sub

  3. #3
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    When you click on a record in a Continuous Form, that record becomes the Current Record. Does that give you any ideas?

  4. #4
    akbigcat86 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    17
    So I have to select the record first and then click any command button I add to the form? Is there any way to make it so clicking the command button of one record (not the current record) on a continuous form brings me to another form that displays the details of that record?

  5. #5
    cowboy is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    291
    the way i described will work in the way you are thinking.

  6. #6
    akbigcat86 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    17
    I figured it out myself. I didn't realize a command button on each line in a continuous form would still bring up data associated with that record. Thanks for the help though!

  7. #7
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Outstanding! We love it when posters are able to get a handle on their own issue.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. programming a continuous form?
    By Ferret in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-30-2010, 04:51 PM
  2. jpg file in continuous form
    By ngocham2001 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 03:34 AM
  3. set continuous form height
    By taylorosso in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2009, 05:26 AM
  4. Continuous Form
    By duckie10 in forum Access
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 11:15 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-22-2009, 01:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums