delwin69 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Access 2007 install issues

Greetings. This is my first time to post so please excuse and comment if needed. I have an issue with an Access 2007 install in a corporate setting. We used an unattended rip to uninstall Office 2003 and install 2007. On 99% of the installs there have been no problems. On one pc, each and every time I (or worse, the user) attempts to open Access or any database the app goes through a complete reconfiguration taking about 5-6 minutes. I have researched and tried numerous fixes, including a clean install, unregistering and regestering the msiexec.exe, telling the registry not to allow Office to register, as below:
    reg add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Word\Options /v NoReReg /t REG_DWORD /d 1
    Also other fixes in these websites;
    http://forums.techarena.in/office-setup/1024781.htm
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301
    http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/...keep-tryi.aspx

There is only one version of Access used on the pc's, although the db's are from 98 on up, although this causes no other problems with any other pc's. At the moment I have Office 2007 and Access 2003 as a workaround. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. -G.

TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    "We used an unattended rip to uninstall Office 2003 and install 2007."

Really? Pirating software? And in a corporate setting nonetheless. You wont get any help here.

Windows XP Access 2007

Not sure I follow your thinking

I'm not sure why anyone would assume we were using pirated software because it is an unattended rip. The Rip was made via Altiris so it could be dropped on groups of pc's as needed. I can assure you as regards to the City I work for ALL software is licensed and paid for: I was part of the group who made sure. Can someone please respond who will not make suppositions and perhaps ask questions first?

Windows XP Access 2003