Dicegod is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013 64bit

Have two fields I need to make into one unique identifier

Hello everyone,
    This is my first post so I apologize if I am not following proper layout or etiquette. I am currently using Access 2013.

I have a database that I am creating for my company to use. I work in the field of import and export logistics. Here is the problem I have. I have three tables that I created. A master table that houses all pertinent information for the shipment such has container number, bill of lading number, customer, so on. I have a table that is going to be the costs table for services rendered and an invoice table for what is going to be charged to the customer accordingly.

The problem is that container numbers can be reused and bills of lading can have more than one container attached to it. So neither field is completely unique. However, the combination of both the container number and bill of lading number will make a unique identifier for the shipment. I believe this is going to be the only way to link all three tables together. Since the form I created has an entry for both the container number and the bill of lading number, I tried creating a calculated field that concatenates them together. However I cannot make this a primary key.

I currently found a way around this by creating one huge table with all the fields that are required to be entered into one table so that they are already linked. I would like to break this down if possible and to make more efficient.

Any suggestions to my current issue would be greatly appreciate it. I am trying to prevent having the end users enter a combination of the two to prevent redundancy and I am trying to prevent creating one table with about 100 fields to it.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    There's no need to create a primary key when one is provided for you. Use the AUTONUM field and a key will be created for you.