Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ahill48 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Exclamation Help! I need to know how to share an Access database

I have a very small Access database that I created on my desktop. I need to share this at three separate locations. We do not have a server or a SharePoint we can use. I looked into purchasing a SharePoint, but they were way too expensive.

Is there a way to use one of our computers as a server and house the back end on that computer? If so what would be the cheapest, most secure way to access from each of the computers with the front end file? Are there other options for sharing?

I am not a coder, or indeed very experienced with Access. I created the database by googling how to do what I needed it to do and asking questions in forums like this one. It functions very well, and I've been using it to enter data on my computer; but to be really useful, we need to provide the search functions at the locations. Any help you can provide would be much appreciated.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    use your computer, set it to share with those other people. It becomes a 'server'.
    split your database, give users rights to the backend,
    give each individual their own copy of the frontend.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by ranman256 View Post
    use your computer, set it to share with those other people. It becomes a 'server'.
    split your database, give users rights to the backend,
    give each individual their own copy of the frontend.
    Can this be done over the internet? Do we need a VPN or anything? Not sure how this would work. We do not have a company network.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    but to be really useful, we need to provide the search functions at the locations