Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    jucooper1 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Autofill field from previous fields entered

I am fairly new to Access, first off. I am a football historian and I collect data on coaches using Access, things like where a coach coached in what season, what his position was, wins/losses, etc. One thing I use this database for is to look for relationships between coaches like who has coached for this coach or who was on so-and-so's staff. What I would like to be able to do in access is when I am entering information about a coach, I would like for Access to autofill the "head coach" field based on the information I entered previously (ie, season, and team). I already have a lot of that information entered and I would like for it to fill automatically. To give an example Joe Smith was the head coach at Football University in 2015, this is already entered into the database. Now I am entering data for Jeff Wilson, who was an assistant for Joe Smith at Football University in 2015. First thing I enter is the season "2015", then the coach "Jeff Wilson" then the team "Football University" then his position "assistant coach." The next field is who his head coach was. I would like to set it up, if at all possible, for Access to see the "2015," "Football Univerity" and "assistant coach" (or in reality NOT "head coach") and the populate the head coach field from this information. Is this possible and how would I do it. Just consider me a complete newbie. Thank you for any help!

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007