Optimus_1 is offline Novice
    Windows 98/ME Access 2002

Assistance on DB Design required - please

Hello all,

many thanks in advance for looking and helping me.

I am relatively new to access and have a DB design query, I have completed roughly in excel how i would like my database entry form/forms to look like in access, if anyone can please give me some direction on how best to complete this i would be very grateful.

Also i am unsure if you can have external files atached to forms (that are specific to a table entry?.

I hope i have explained my self in the attached spreadsheet.

thanks again
    Nathan

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    I would recommend holding off on the forms until your table structure is worked out. Having the correct table structure is critical to any relational database, so it is best to plan it out carefully.

From your spreadsheet, it looks like you are tracking work schedules. Can you explain in words what you have to do with these work schedules?

From what I can tell, a work schedule has to be issued (by someone) and has to be completed. Each work schedule has many external files related to it. If I have interpreted that correctly, this is how I would set up the tables:

A table to hold the basic work schedule information:

tblWorkSchedule
    -pkWorkSchID primary key, autonumber
    -txtWordScheduleName

Since a work schedule has many actions (issue and completion) associated with it, you have a one-to-many relationship which requires a table such as this. Associated with an action you have a date and a person and something that describes the action being taken.

tblWorkScheduleTransactions
    -pkWSTransID primary key, autonumber
    -fkWorkSchID foreign key to tblWorkSchedule
    -fkActionTypeID foreign key to tblActionTypes
    -fkPeopleID foreign key to tblPeople (person doing the action)
    -dteAction date of the action