MS_Access_User is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013 64bit

General questions on creating a simple incident database

I'm unsure where is the best place to post this (database-section, table, query, etc.) as this is a more general question. I'm more or less an absolute beginner, so have patience with me. I'm fully aware that this might be a helluwah bigger question then I think it is.

I don't have much experience with Access (or database creation in general), but I've been tasked with setting up a database which will record incidents of a certain nature. I have toyed around with Access a bit, but I'm somewhat unsure about the limits and the possibilities of the program. All I'm looking to do is create a simple database where people (or simply an administrator) can enter data, and where they can view and search through it.

So far I've made a form for entering data which works just fine, however, you can still edit the data in the forms. I'm looking to create a way for people to browse through the entries, and search through them. I suppose I have to create a query for the latter to work.

Is there a way of doing this in a tabbed form where the tabs are for viewing data and adding new entries?

I would be very thankful if you could give me some general pointers, or show me where I can find some decent tutorials for my problem.

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    I recommend you work through this tutorial from RogersAccessLibrary. You will learn about database design, tables and relationships. Tables and relationships are the most critical part of database. If these do not match your business issue/opportunity (that is the problem you are trying to solve/automate), then you'll spend a lot of miserable time trying to build "work arounds" that could be easily avoided by having the appropriate structure.