branbran is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Create a stastical report and extract to Excel

Hi There,

I'm fairly new to access. I have database that I need to create a statistical report from, so titles with numbers, how many records at this status or that status, how many records of this customer type (we have categorized the customers). I almost want it to look like a dashboard. I then need to be able to export it to excel because my team only has excel, not access. Is there a way to do this in access? Do I need to use the reports function or reports wizard? I don't want to see all records, I just want to pull out how many records at a bunch of different status, so I will pull from how many occurrences of a value out of a certain field, or a combination of fields.
    I am used to using formula's in excel to do this, but I'm not sure how to pull out this data and display it in access. I used to work in SQl databases along time ago but my SQL is rusty, but I have a solid understanding of how databases work, I'm just not sure what Access functions what I need to use in order to create this. Is what I've described possible?

thank you!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Yes, you build queries to pull the data you want. Then make charts,reports with these.
    these can be controlled on a form, to limit the date range,or the customer, etc.

ok thank you, so essentially I would like to look like an excel spreadsheet, 5 headings with the numbers underneath. So a heading would say "No. of applicants In progress" and the number underneath would say 30. So if I build a query to grab all applicants of a status in progress it will show me all the rows of data, how do I then build a report to have the label and the number underneath for each stat I want?? that's the part I'm getting suck on. I took a quick look at the report function and can't find where it will do a count?