Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    willfrank is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013 32bit

Cascade combo box selection from another combo box

I am new to Access; I cannot cascade from Buildings combo box to Rooms combo box. See attached. If anyone can advise, I would much appreciate your help. thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    I have created a copy of your database (changed the name) and

-changed the names of your combos on Form1 since they were named same as fields in your tables
    -removed the control source to these combos
    -changed the rowsource
    -removed the distinct from the SQL
    -changed the event in combo cboBuilding from OnChange to AfterUpdate

See if this is what you are looking for. It wasn't clear, but for cascading combos you (typically):
    select an entry from combo1, then
    in the after Update event, you modify the rowsource of combo2, using the value selected in combo1, then
    requery to ensure the modified rowsource is applied.

Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post

-changed the names of your combos on Form1 since they were named same as fields in your tables
    -changed the rowsource

See if this is what you are looking for. It wasn't clear, but for cascading combos you (typically):
    in the after Update event, you modify the rowsource of combo2, using the value selected in combo1, then

thank you so much: perfect: exactly what I am looking for. I appreciate your help...thanks again

You are very welcome.
    Good luck with your project.

Incorporate combo box functions in existing database

thanks again for your help last week. It is possible to incorporate the fixed combo box selections to work with my other existing database?

My original database only supports one building; but with the new option (that you provided) I would like to incorporate all 3 buildings.