RobOtowski is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013 32bit

Query filter: better to use variable criteria or "applyfilter"?

Hey Gang,

I recently had to split a database and discovered that many of my reports had issues (probably poor design, since I'm pretty new to all this still, but I kept getting the "can't open any more databases" error...). I've managed to get around many of them by creating ad hoc local tables so I got that going for me, which is nice.

That's just background information as to why I'm asking about the following. As I'm developing the front-end it occurred to me that there are multiple ways to filter queries and I'm just wonder what the difference really is.

Here's the example:
    I have a form with two combo boxes, one for Term and one for Department. There is a button to open a query which will show me all the course sections from that department for that term which are not marked "correct". I click the button, it fires an embedded macro (using Macro Builder, I really don't know coding as yet) that opens the query "IncorrectListingsByDept". Under the field "CourseTerm" I have the criteria [Forms]![FormLaunch]![ComboTermSelect] and under the field "CourseDept" I have the criteria [Forms]![FormLaunch]![ComboIncorrectDept]. Under the field "SectionCorrect" I have the criteria "No". All of this works fine.

But another method is to add an "ApplyFilter" action to the existing macro with the "Where Condition" being [IncorrectListingsByDept]![CourseTerm]=[Forms]![FormLaunch]![ComboTermSelect] And [IncorrectListingsByDept]![CourseDepartment]=[Forms]![FormLaunch]![ComboIncorrectDept] Which also works fine (the "SectionCorrect" criteria stays "No" so that's not in the Where Condition line).