Koolaid is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2016

I want to populate a date field (by 6 months) automatically when form is opened

So, this is probably not that hard but I am very new at this. Literally a few days new lol

I have two fields for dates.

Start date and Expiration date

I already figured out how to auto populate the Start Date with today's date when I open my form.

What I want is that when it opens, it also auto updates the expiration date automatically to 6 months from the Start Date.

I'm sure this is something that is common but I have no idea how to do it. I am assuming there is a built-in functionality that I can use to say for example:

180 days from THIS field(Start date) = the (expiration date)

automatically

Thanks for the assistance in advance.

Koolaid

vicsaccess is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    https://support.office.com/en-us/art...4-61e8c57afc19
    this should help, its pretty simple. you can also check google for "access dateadd" if it gives you any trouble there are plenty of referances for help. good luck

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Not that you would have instinctively known that what you needed was a function, but if you're going to dabble further, I'd recommend you bookmark this page (I have).
    http://www.techonthenet.com/access/functions/
    Browse through it and you'll get a feeling for what functions can do, and when you're faced with a similar need in the future, you might remember that you saw something there that you can use.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Windows 8 Access 2016