bhartley123 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

How to do I populate a junction table as records are added/updated in a form?

I am pretty new to Access. I have a table that is Staff, with a primary key of StaffID, and I have a table with Services, with a primary key of ServiceID. I know I can create a junction table that links a StaffID to a Service ID, for a many to many relationship, but I want to be able to populate that junction table within a form. Staff can be linked to multiple services and services can be linked to multiple staff.

How can I have a form for a service, which has fields for Primary Staff Contact and Secondary Staff Contact, where the field has a drop-down of staff names to select? And once the staff name is selected, the junction table record linking the staff and services ideas is created? And if the Primary Staff Contact field is changed, with a new name selected, the junction table field is changed as well.

I just can't seem to understand how to do this without entering all the junction table records by hand. I know there has to be an easier way. I am not yet very familiar with SQL, so I only use Access.

The staff table and Service table are already populated. I just want to pull up a form where I can create and update those linked names easily. Any help is appreciated, including a link to videos. Most of the videos I find tell me how to create the junction table for a many-to-many relationship, but they always seem to assume I am going to create those links in the table ahead of time.

Thanks!!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    you need a tStaffSvc table.
    staffID
    ServiceID

key both fields.
    make 2 forms, 1 for master table tStaff, and a form for the tStaffSvc sub-form.
    put the subform in the master form and link on StaffID.
    then enter services for each staff.

bhartley123 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016