Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Chazcoral is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    keeping current entry in field until changed

    Is it possible to set a drop down or text box up so that after completing a page of entries the next page will keep those fields until they are changed?


    E.G. I choose my name in a drop down box and today's date in a test box, after completing all other info and push enter when the form moves to empty page my name and date are still displayed unless I change it.

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52
    In this form I have several test boxes and combo boxes. Is there a way to make it only copy two or three of them rather than all of the boxes?

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    The method I posted only does one field. Did you use some other method?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52

    copy all fields

    No, I copied and pasted you code into control tip, and the results are that it copies everything. Did I applied it to the wrong location?

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    I don't understand what you mean by control tip; no code would run there. The typical event would be the after update event of a control. It would only affect that control.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #7
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52

    here's what I have

    Here is the On click event proceedure for the command button. what do I need to change?

    Private Sub Command60_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_Command60_Click

    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSelectRecord
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdCopy
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdRecordsGoToNew
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSelectRecord
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdPaste
    Exit_Command60_Click:
    Exit Sub
    Err_Command60_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_Command60_Click

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    That is not the code I recommended using. That copy/pastes an entire record. Did you not want to use the method I posted?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  9. #9
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52

    recomend

    This is the hyperlink that you provided for me. It takes me to the code that I used. I must not have recieved the other recomendation that you sent. Can you send it again please

    http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0012.htm

  10. #10
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    Are you clicking further into some other part of the site? Here's what I see when I click on the link.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  11. #11
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52
    Ok I think I'm understanding where I missunderstand.
    I have pasted const cQuote=""""
    me!Control.DefaultValue = cQuote & me!Control.Value & cQuote Into on cick event proceedure. Now when I click on the command button it opens the event proceedure. I'm assumed that I needed to put the combo box name that I want to copy in Quotes but it errors. So What am I doing Wrong?

  12. #12
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    You would replace Control with the name of your combo.

    me!ComboName.DefaultValue = cQuote & me!ComboName.Value & cQuote
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  13. #13
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52
    Here is what my code looks Private Sub Command60_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_Command60_Click

    Const cQuote = """"
    Me!Combo37.DefaultValue = cQuote & Me!Combo37.Value & cQuote
    Exit_Command60_Click:
    Exit Sub
    Err_Command60_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_Command60_Click

  14. #14
    chazcoral2 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52
    Got It!! Thank you very much, thanks for your patience with me. You really were veruy helpfull

  15. #15
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    Happy to help; glad you got it working.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Current month in a field as default
    By leandrosarno in forum Access
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 05:40 AM
  2. Can't get new field to show in my data entry form
    By Suzie in forum Database Design
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 03:48 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 04:27 PM
  4. Find out changed data
    By Papote in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-27-2009, 08:19 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2009, 11:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums