Tlo is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 8 Access 2013

IIF Returning #error Message

I'm new to Access and trying to get an IIF function to work in a query. I understand the concept as I've used them for years in Excel, but can't seem to get the syntax right because I keep getting a #error message in the field I'm trying to create. I need to evaluate what service was done on a vehicle and add the appropriate amount of time for Next Service Due field (field with the iif function). I know how to use DateAdd, so I've reduced the formula to this for testing purposes, and am still getting a #error message.

Next Service Due: IIF([Service Category]= "650 Mile Service","OK","NOT OK")

If the field Service Category is empty, NOT OK is returned. If it is populated with anything OK is returned.

What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for the help!

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    I do not get any error messages. I get OK or NOT OK, even when Service Category is an empty field.

What is the value of Service Category that causes you an error?
    What is the exact error message you are seeing?

Windows 8 Access 2013
    Actually I just figured it out - Service Category field is a lookup field from another table, so Service Category was a number not a text When I did this it worked:

Next Service Due: IIf([Service Category]=1,"No Further Service Required",IIf([Service Category]=2,DateAdd("m",6,[Service Date]),IIf([Service Category]=3,DateAdd("m",12,[Service Date]),IIf([Service Category]=4,DateAdd("m",24,[Service Date]),IIf([Service Category]=5,DateAdd("m",42,[Service Date]),IIf([Service Category]=6,DateAdd("m",72,[Service Date])))))))

Thanks for quick reply though! I had been wrestling that one for a few hours now.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    I bet you have set your Service Category field to be a lookup field in your table design. If so, think how much time you would have saved if you hadn't done that.