SepieSmith is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

appending record ID numbers from PK table to the related FK in another table

Hey, sorry for the not-so-clear title! I'm pretty new to access although I understand things pretty fast.
    I'm trying to amend a mess in my employer's dB (Insurance agency) Here's my problem:
    Table 1 holds the PolicyNum which was created as the Primary key. This table is connected to Table 2 which holds additional insured persons in that policy.

I want to add an ID field for table 1 (to be used as PK instead of the PolicyNum) and relate it to a new foreign key field I will create in table 2 (currently the FK in Table 2 is the PolicyNum of course).

Problem: If I change the PK on table 1 Access won't automatically copy the PK values to the new FK field in table 2.

I tried every kind of query I know - but I wasn't able to do it. Here's the gist of what I gotta do:

Table1
    ID(PK) PolicyNum
    01 15123456789101113
    02 15123456789101114

03 15123456789101115

Table2
    Policy_ID(FK) PolicyNum
    ?? 15123456789101113
    ?? 15123456789101114
    ?? 15123456789101115

how can I get Access to return/copy the value in the ID field in Table1 - onto the Policy_ID field in Table2 at the appropriate row (with same PolicyNum)?

your help will be very VERY appreciated!!
    Thanks in advance!

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Usually I don't ask why, but in this case, I see absolutely no gain for the work, and suspect it will not solve whatever problem it is you think you have. Based on the limited information, the data in your second table should probably look like this (assuming 2 to 3 additional persons covered under the policy).
    Table2
    Policy_ID(F'PolicyNum Addl_Ins
    15123456789101113 Mary
    15123456789101113 John
    15123456789101114 Peter
    15123456789101114 David
    15123456789101114 George
    15123456789101115 Frank
    15123456789101115 Mary