shell159 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Seeking help on a query - novice user - looking for best practice to use in designing a query

I am a novice user of Access. My last database class was in 1999 and it was using Paradox 5.0, not Access, so forgive my simplistic nature. I have tried to search for an answer myself, but I am beginning to think I may be over my head. I am working on a database for my employer to track employee training hours. I currently have 3 tables (not including my switchboard).

One table is a course list table that tracks the class information and contains the following fields.
    ID (Auto Number & PK)
    Course Title
    7 fields that track break down of course hours
    Total Training Hours (calculated based on adding 6 of the 7 hour fields)

The 2nd table tracks employees and contains the following fields:
    Employee ID (PK)
    First Name
    Last Name
    Employee Name (Calculated to combine first and last)

My third table is to actually track who took which class and when. It has the following fields.
    ID (auto number & PK)
    Course Date

Course Title FK
    Employee ID FK

I am trying to design a query that would prompt the user to input a date range and input an employee id or leave either on blank to see all records. I can get a query to work with the date ranger or leave blank for all. I can get a query to work with inputting an employee id or leave blank to show all. I can't get both to work a the same time. I can get the input boxes for both but the results aren't properly filtered.

For example, if I put in a date range and an ID it seems to work, but if I leave one of the two blank to see all records it breaks. A date range entered without an employee id returns everything, not just the dates specified.

I am afraid that my logic is flawed and that I may need something other than a simple query to accomplish this but I don't know how. Any help would be appreciated.

CJ_London is offline VIP