CRM001 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Bills of Materials / Inventory

Hi all,
    I am new to Access so I'm just learning.
    I downloaded a template called Inventory which I believe it is what we need but with a few mods. One of them is I need to be able to create BOMs and calculate Items available for those BOMs. This is what I did so far:
    1) I created a Table called "Components" with a Parent ID, Component ID and a "Qty req'd for BOM" field.
    2) I created a query to link the Inventory Table (with Items) and the "Components" table and try to (unsuccessfully) add a field for current stock levels of the items. THis field is already part of a report.

Now, I am trying to add a field in the query to calculate the # of BOMs I could create by Item by trying to create a field in the query with a field called "Stock Level" from a report and the "Qty Req'd field" from my components table. I tried using the Exp builder but once I create the expression and tab out of the field (query design view) the exp dissapears fm the query.

Thanks for any input you can provide.
    CRM

Robertt is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    CRM,

Can you post the formula you are trying use that is disappearing? That would be a lot easier for us to look at rather than guessing as to what you need to do.

Robert

CRM001 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Robertt View Post
    CRM,

Can you post the formula you are trying use that is disappearing? That would be a lot easier for us to look at rather than guessing as to what you need to do.

Robert
    Thanks Robert,
    The formula would be
    BOM available = MIN (each of the components current "Stock level" divided by the "Qty req'd field").
    Ex:
    BOM X is made out of: 3 Comp A and 5 Comp B.
    Current stock of A = 6
    Current stock of B = 5
    => BOM X available = Min (6/3 for prod A = 2; 5/5 for prod B = 1) => BOM X available = 1