Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    sams is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

how can I add multiple records(products) in one (order)form?

Dear,

I am new to access 2007, had access 2003 basics at school. Did some additional reading (book: access 2007 for dummies, ms homepage/tutorials, forums) I want to create an sales/inventory database to make my life at work a lot easier! I’ve planned my db, wrote down everything I need. Then I created my tbl’s contacts/customers, products, orders, transactions. I linked the various tbl’s via relationships. Then I created my forms for data-entry. Now I’m stuck on the new-order form! I want to add multiple records (products) to one customer-order. I tried to use a sub-form made from the transaction tbl, but that didn’t work. Could anybody help me out with this problem? All help and advice is appreciated. I added the db that I am working on so you can take a look.

Thanks in advanced.

Sam

maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Check out this sample database may be this will help. This is a simple databese wit a main form and a subform. The Main Form reflects the order details and the subform records the products, more over it also displays the sub-form total on the main form.

sams is offline Novice
    thank you very much for your reply.

that is what i was looking for!
    the only thing is that every new product that i add gives it a new orderID.
    is it possible that i can add multiple products with the same orderID?, which would make it easier to make a report (invoice) from the order and to track customer orders by orderID.

regards,

Sam

study the database properly. The relationships in particular. ClientId (AutoNmber PK) in the client table is Linked to client Id of Order( Number FK) the Order_ID in the order table is the primary key for ORder table.

So Follow this Structure.

Order Main table Linked with Order Sub Form.

sams is offline Novice