RobOtowski is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Question Comparing EndTime from one record to StarTime of another record within same query

Hello all, my apologies if this is answered elsewhere but I've spent the better part of the day seeking the answer to no luck. I am relatively new to Access, and know pretty much nothing about VBA or SQL language.

I'll try to be brief in the background for this: I work at a college, we connect several rooms via camera/mics, allowing the instructor to teach to multiple rooms at the same time. We have a system that automatically connects all the necessary rooms to a conference at a set time (class start time + a variable pad), then disconnects everything at another set time (end time + 4 minutes). That "variable pad" is what is giving me the headaches. If NONE of the rooms in a class are in use 15+ minutes before class starts, we put a 10 minute pad on the start of the conference. If ANY of the rooms in a class are in use within 15 minutes before start time, we put a 4 minute pad on the start of the conference.

I have several tables linked together within a query to give me (among other things): Title, StartTime, StartPad (which is just StartTime - 15 minutes), EndTime, Room. I would like to compare the StartPad of one class to the EndTime of the previous class and let me know if there's a conflict. Or indicate how much time there is in between. Or anything at all that would let me know that which classes get which pad (10 minutes or 4 minutes).