BrianS is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Adding a decimal place to an interger field

Hello, I was hoping someone might know if this is possible. I'm a PLC guy who was successful in loading an Access database with data from the PLC's memory. Unfortunately, I'm only able to transfer Integer values. In the database I'd like to show one of the fields as a real number by formatting the Integer value to add a decimal place. Example: 2505 to 250.5
    I'm very new at using Access, so any help would be appreciated.

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Integers, by definition, do not have a decimal component. If you are going to use the Integer datatype, you cannot override that.
    How come you are only able to transfer Integer values? What exactly is limiting you?

Here are some possible workarounds, you may want to consider, if you are unable to use Single, Double, or Decimal Data Types.

1. Depending upon how many decimal places you need to track, use "implied decimals".
    For example, if you need two decimals, multiply every number by 100. So "250.57" is stored as "25057".

2. Split your number into two fields, one for the Integer portion, and one for the decimal portion.
    So, "250.57" would have "250" in the first field, and "57" in the second field.

3. Transfer the value over as Text instead of a number type.

IrogSinta is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    In the table's design view, select the field with the Number data type, then look at its Field Size property; if it is set to Integer or Long Integer, change this to Single or Double.

Ron

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    In the table's design view, select the field with the Number data type, then look at its Field Size property; if it is set to Integer or Long Integer, change this to Single or Double.
    That certainly would be the preferrable thing to do, but it sounds like that isn't an option: