rlaker is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Help with Access and SQL

Hi all

Im a new member, I havent used access in years but used to do quite abit of work in access creating DB's with Froms and front ends etc, its been a while but the form side of things I think i should be fine with one i get over this stumbling block, if i layout what I have and what im trying to achieve.

What I have

Access 2013
    SQL Server 2008 (Hosted but we have connection via secure link)
    a ton of SQL Queries Ive written with help of my Development Manager (im new to SQL)
    Ive linked all the tables in Access that my Queries use from SQL
    All of the queries work in SQL Management Studio and give the desired results

What im trying to achieve

Im trying to build a front end application that will link back to my SQL DB for my CRM System, I then am going to build a Main Menu system using forms and build a few forms for various Departments so they can click a button to run a Report, this will run a SQL Query and dispay the output in a New Window or within a box on the form depending on how i design it and what works for that specific output. Im not talking about anything massivly complicated hopefully that I want to setup I alreayd have SQL Query's that give the desired output but I have managers that I want design an interface for to save them coming to me all the time to produce reports for them, this way I can give them a Front End on their machines and if they want to see the daily stats or ticket stats etc for the week / month they can just hit a button.

Anyone able to assist me with this, Ive been having alook and trying but Access wont let me save the Query's when Ive entered them inot Access in SQL View or run them it doesnt like the expressions and moans about various ones but these are standard SQL Query's that work fine in SQL Management view.

Cheers in advance for any help

Rich

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003