skydiver is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Coverting Excel sheet using vlookup tue wit Access DB

I am new to Access so please bear with my lack of knowledge..

I have an Access database I am setting up to replace an Excel workbook. The Access database is comprised of multiple tables but the one in question where I am stumped is as follows:
    Table: DSRData
    Item Amount Date FiscalPeriod
    Sales 10000.00 2/19/2014 ???
    Sales 850.00 1/14/2014 ???

Table: FP
    PeriodStart PeriodEnd FP
    1/2/2014 1/29/2014 P01
    1/30/2014 2/26/2014 P02
    2/27/2014 4/2/2014 P03

In Excel I could use a Vlookup *(true) to find the correct fiscal period to assign the data to from the FP table but i am at a bit of a loss as to how to do this in Access. I know I will need to do create a table join in access probably using a SQL query wit a conditional dsrdata.dob >= fy.periodstart AND dsrdata.dob <= fy.periodend but I haven't figured out how to dynamically assign the correct FP value to each row of data in the DSRData table.

I have approximately 9 columns of data that will need this type of lookup. My goal is to create a replication of the Excel worksheet in Access that I can then save to our SharePoint site with Pivot charts of the full data set as a SharePoint Webpart.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    try

Code:
    SELECT *, Dlookup("FP","FPs",SaleDate & "Between PeriodStart AND PeriodEnd") AS FiscalPeriod
    FROM DSRData
    Or

Code:
    SELECT *, (SELECT TOP 1 FP FROM FPs AS T WHERE DSRData.SaleDate Between PeriodStart AND PeriodEnd) AS FiscalPeriod
    FROM DSRData
    Note that Date is a reserved word, so change it to something else otherwise you will experience problems

Also you have a table with a field the same name (FP) which will also cause problems. The normal convention is to use plurals for table names and the singular for field names - my code above reflects these changes