Bruzer is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Newbie seeking input

Hoping for direction, I work for a non profit rehab centre and we are trying to create a data base to track clients. Contact info (name, age, address, ECT) - Family (children, married, next of kin) - substance abuse history (what was used, past treatment, clean date,) – Medical, Legal, emotional, physical, mental, spiritual information in the form of questions. All pertaining to a single client, so my question is one table or multiple tables? Please keep in mind that I am not a proficient Access programmer but am very motivated to learn and create a tool that will assist us in helping others!

abbeyainscal is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002

Wow - see reply

Quote Originally Posted by Bruzer View Post
    Hoping for direction, I work for a non profit rehab centre and we are trying to create a data base to track clients. Contact info (name, age, address, ECT) - Family (children, married, next of kin) - substance abuse history (what was used, past treatment, clean date,) – Medical, Legal, emotional, physical, mental, spiritual information in the form of questions. All pertaining to a single client, so my question is one table or multiple tables? Please keep in mind that I am not a proficient Access programmer but am very motivated to learn and create a tool that will assist us in helping others!
    Ok, for the basic demographic info - you would make a table that contains that and make sure that it contains a unique key (Access will do it for you if you don't have one). But, sometimes, something like the last name and a number are fine too.

Ok, now, for the questions to the answers, well, you could link a separate table to that and make sure you link the 2 unique identifiers.