LBB is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit

After updating a subform, how can I get the "Find Record" command button to search the Main Form?

Hi

After much searching and reading I think this could be something about GoTo, or SetFocus but I'm totally new to Access (and can't code) and am not really sure what to search for any more!

I have built a simple database for recording sports coaches and their sessions. I have two tables, one for coach details (Name, Address etc), and one for their sessions (Date of session, Number of players who attended, topic taught).

I've built a simple form/subform that brings up the coach name (mainform, stacked) and then all their session details (subform, tabular). The idea is to use this form every week to update the sessions subform with new sessions.

To make it more user-friendly I'm using the built-in "Find Record" command button to search for the coaches.

My issue is, once I've used "Find Record" to find a coach, and then updated the sessions in the subform, hitting that "Find Record" button again only searches the subform. How can I get the button, or something, to go back to searching the main form records? I essentially want a "Find Coach" button but don't know how to restrict where Access looks for records.

Hope I've explained that ok...

Thanks

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Did you click back to the main form first before clicking "Find Record"? I am not sure what you mean by 'built-in Find Record button' - do you mean Find & Replace? I build my own search functionality. Anything other than 'built-in' will require code. Examples:

http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...tomfilter.html

http://www.allenbrowne.com/ser-62.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

LBB is offline Novice
    Hi June7