To make changes to this field, first save the record - HELP!!! (without needing code if possible)

Hi, I'm a returning amateur trying to construct a form with a datasheet subform. I have successfully added two cascading combo boxes to the subform to narrow selection of items but the third (constructed the same as far as I can tell) gives error message 'to make changes to this field, first save the record'. I have not used any code - just the property boxes and expression builder. I have checked my relationships, am requerying after update, checked there are no default values and checked my column counts (the suggestions I've found so far)... I'm not a programmer so don't really want to take the VBA route if it can be helped. I get the feeling I've missed something basic, but googling this error just sends me to pages of coding which I don't really want to get my head round - so an 'Access for dummies' approach would be appreciated

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    Thanks - at present there is a mountain of confidential data as it is my company's customer and invoice details. Will faff about a bit longer but may have to resort to copying & deleting data and submitting for help but not sure there would be any data left! I'd have to add a load of dummy stuff - is this not a common error? :/

June7 is online now VIP
    Not uncommon but tracking down cause is so dependent on form structure, properties, code. There is no one correction that could be solution for every case. The effort you already went through in searching for cause demonstrates that.