kevinhadrice is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

How do I Create Aggregate Sales Grouped by Product ID?

Hi guys, I'm a noob at Access and I have created a Query that shows

the Product ID, Product Name, Quantity, Price, Gross Margin, Sales, Profit.

The only problem is that in the two tables I was given in my assignment, there were multiple dates for the purchase, thus even though I have 74 products there is multiple listings

ie.

110-10 Sofa Chair 5x $2 profit:$10 - october 11
    110-10 Sofa Chair 6x $2 profit:$12 - october 12

I need to group it so that it becomes this.

110-10 Sofa Chair 11x $2 profit:$22

The date/location is not important, only the aggregate sales. Here is my SQL but hopefully you can find me a solution in design view, I'm very bad with code.

SELECT SALES.PRODUCT_ID, PRODUCTS.ITEM, PRODUCTS.PRICE, SALES.QUANTITY, PRODUCTS.GROSS_MARGIN, Sum([Quantity]*[Price]) AS Sales, [Quantity]*[Price]*[Gross_Margin] AS Profit, PRODUCTS.WIDTH, PRODUCTS.DEPTH
    FROM PRODUCTS INNER JOIN SALES ON PRODUCTS.PRODUCT_ID = SALES.PRODUCT_ID
    GROUP BY SALES.PRODUCT_ID, PRODUCTS.ITEM, PRODUCTS.PRICE, SALES.QUANTITY, PRODUCTS.GROSS_MARGIN, [Quantity]*[Price]*[Gross_Margin], PRODUCTS.WIDTH, PRODUCTS.DEPTH, SALES.TRANSDATE
    HAVING (((SALES.TRANSDATE)>=#9/1/2011# And (SALES.TRANSDATE)<=#12/31/2011#))
    ORDER BY Sum([Quantity]*[Price]) DESC;

Nordic_Inventory1.zip

pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    In design view, change Group By to Where on the TRANSDATE field.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Hi, I have done that but it still shows 959 results and the same items aren't grouped together.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Probably because you're grouping on things like quantity and price, which can vary. When you include a field with Group By, it will group by each different value in that field.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com