How can i make a search box for all fields in a table?

This is my first project in Access, so this might be a really easy fix, and this might not be the right forum, but any help would be appreciated. I have a database of our inventory and wanted to add a search feature to it. I managed to create a split form with a search box at the top using Apply Filter with the command [Item#] Like "*" & Forms!inventtab!text20 & "*". It would work exactly like I need it to if it could be applied to ALL fields of the table. I only have nine fields that need searched, but it surpasses the character limit of the where condition line when I enter them all like the example. Any way to shorten the SQL so that it fits, or maybe there is something that replaces the first bracket so that it applies to all fields of the table? Thanks in advance!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    You could make a union query.
    in it has 9 querys (you only have 9 fields)

select * from tbl where [fld1] =txtbox
    union
    select * from tbl where [fld2] =txtbox
    union
    select * from tbl where [fld3] =txtbox

etc..

ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    It would work exactly like I need it to if it could be applied to ALL fields of the table. I only have nine fields that need searched,
    Why nine fields? This sounds like a non- normalized structure. What are the filed names?

See http://www.allenbrowne.com/ser-62code.html

Normally you should have different field names and search text boxes, but you should be able to use the one search text box and create the filter using the link above.

Be aware of when to use "AND" and "OR"...........

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)