SPisarek is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Combining a Linked data table with a seperate non-linked table

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Access in general, and I am creating a database for the company I'm with right now. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with this, as I am thoroughly stuck.

We have an outside source of excel formated information that is being consistently updated by a linked table. And we have additional information of the same kind being put into a different table because it isn't from the same source. There is so much data that going through and transferring them all to one table is just not reasonable.

Is there a way to combine them, and then use a form to be able to access/see these reports? Do I need to use a query?

Thank you for your help!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Use query or form/subform.

Do these tables have a relationship - is there a common identifier? One-to-One, One-to-Many, Many-to-Many?

What you mean by 'combine'. Do you want to JOIN them on a common identifier? Or do you want to UNION the tables?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thank you June7!

I have been thinking of creating a relationship between them, but I don't know if I need to create a relationship between all the fields they have in common, or just one. And I'm sure it would be a one-to-one relationship. I don't have any need for the information to be duplicated to any more tables.

I was thinking if I could put all of the information into one table, that would be great. I have heard of union queries, but when you join tables on a common identifier, what does the final product look like?

June7 is offline VIP