MBlondinde is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit

Trouble updating hidden fields while the user add a new detail record

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Access but know programming since a while. I have to develop a very basic form to add/update data within a table.
    My form has a combo box where the user select a record then a detail list with 1 or more entries are displayed. Only 3 fields out of 10 are displayed to the user. Modifying the record works fine. However when the user try to add a new entry, I get the following error:
    The Microsoft Access database engine cannot find a record in the table 'Product' with key matching field(s) 'ProductID'

The interesting part is that there should not be any referential integrity problem. The ProductID is one the of hidden field. However, I'm trying to force through code the assignment of the hidden fields based on one of the detail record already displayed. I've tried putting this piece of code in the Form.BeforeInsert event or Form.Dirty. From what I see, I do assign a valid ProductID (wrote a Msgbox(Me.Recordset!ProductID) at the end of both even and the value is valid.

Funny thing is that I don't have any Relationship defined in Access (neither Foreign Keys on the SQL Server database in the backend). I guess it's because the main query of my form is:

Code:
    SELECT [Detail].*, [Product].ProductID, [Product].ProductDescription
    FROM [Detail] INNER JOIN [Product] ON [Detail].ProductID = [Detail].ProductID;
    I'm kind of lost here and any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    It looks like you are trying to enter data , but 1 of the tables is not getting its entry , so error.
    Make sure your join allows the data entry to goto both tables.