Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    tmcrouse is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    169

    Front-end Access Backend Teradata

    So we have migrated our backend to Teradata. Very painful to use this with Access. I have beat my head against the wall trying to get my queries into Teradata because leaving them in Access and just ODBC to the tables and then alter the queries the response time is very slow. I have tried passthrough queries, but I get errors that the object does not exist on my year_table and I know it does. I have QCd everything. After doing some research, I found I can create a view in Teradata which is like a query. I went ahead and did this. Oddly enough, the speed is no different. Leaving the query in Access it processes in about 2mins. (I am VPN into server, then the server has to query through 500k records and return data. Not bad if you ask me). Placing the queries in Teradata as a view, same thing. 2mins. Now, on to my problem.



    I have dataentry and dataupdate forms. I can put the query in the view in Teradata, but it does not like the pointing to the forms portion. I have tried to get help from the Teradata folks and they say this is an Access question. OK. Think they are wrong, but here is my code:

    Code:
    create
    view dl_qpt_cqe.qryQualMain1
    AS
    SELECT qualmain.prog_id, qualmain.stid, qualmain.contact_id, qualmain.yr_id, qualmain.mth_id, qualmain.freq_id, qualmain.bus_id, qualmain.lob_id, qualmain.prod_id, measures.measures_id, comm_lvl.comm_lvl_id, communication.comm_id, qualmain.attachment, qualmain.prog_entdt, qualmain.qid
    FROM
    DL_QPT_CQE.year_table
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.state
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.program
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.product
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.month_table
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.measures
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.lob
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.frequency
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.contacts
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.communication
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.comm_lvl
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.bus_unit
    INNER
    JOIN DL_QPT_CQE.qualmain ON bus_unit.bus_id = qualmain.bus_id
    ON
    comm_lvl.comm_lvl_id = qualmain.comm_lvl_id
    ON
    communication.comm_id = qualmain.comm_id
    ON
    contacts.contact_id = qualmain.contact_id
    ON
    frequency.freq_id = qualmain.freq_id
    ON
    lob.lob_id = qualmain.lob_id
    ON
    measures.measures_id = qualmain.measures_id
    ON
    month_table.mth_id = qualmain.mth_id
    ON
    product.prod_id = qualmain.prod_id
    ON
    program.prog_id = qualmain.prog_id
    ON
    state.stid = qualmain.stid
    ON
    year_table.yr_id = qualmain.yr_id
    WHERE qualmain.prog_id=[forms]![frmProgramsEntry]! [ListQuality];


    The error is logic error and it has that on the qualmain.prog_id=[forms] portion. If I remove that the query will run but then it does not know to point to this form. Maybe I should try removing it anyway and then place that query in the form?


  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,926
    I never use dynamic parameterized query. I use VBA to pass filter criteria to form or report.

    But I am not using VPN or Teradata.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    The problem is here is running Access across VPN, not the Teradata. Albert Kallal is a well known authority on the networking of MS Access, and has an often quoted article on the subject of attempting to run Access across WANs/VPNs:

    http://www.kallal.ca/Wan/Wans.html

    Sadly, the bottom line is that speed across a VPN is about 100 times slower than running Access on a typical LAN! To make it worse, connections frequently get dropped across WANs/VPNs, and Access simply does not tolerate dropped connections, the end result of which is usually a corrupted database!

    But take heart; Albert does offer some possible workarounds!

    Good Luck!

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Open backend on front end start-up
    By Ruegen in forum Access
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-08-2014, 07:06 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-25-2014, 06:57 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2013, 09:00 AM
  4. Split DB - Front and Backend
    By sah in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-03-2012, 04:21 PM
  5. MS Access Front End MS Excel Backend
    By spideynok in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2012, 09:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums