Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    abic131 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit

Creating 3+ combo boxes that depend on eachother

Hi, I am very new to Access and I could use a couple pointers. I'm creating a database for lab inventory. The tables I've created are Suppliers, Equipment and Parts (for each piece of equipment). I've tried to create relevant relationships between the tables and now I'm trying to create a form. I'd like the first combo box to allow me to select the supplier. Based on which supplier I've created I'd then be directed to choose between the pieces of equipment they supply in the 2nd combo box or list. Finally, once I've selected that I'd be able to choose/add to a list of parts specific to that piece of equipment in a third list. WHen I create a form using the Wizard it gives me a separate page for each supplier instead listing them all in one combo box. When I try to design a form I don't know how to make the lists/combo boxes depend on eachother so they don't change based on what I've selected. Any help is much appreciated.

PS When I use form Wizard the subforms DO depend on eachother. IE which I choose different pieces of equipment the parts change but I have to toggle between pages to get to the different suppliers.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Combo Boxes and List Boxes depend on SQL in their Row Source property. Perhaps this sample DB will benefit you. It shows how to Dynamically update a combo's Row Source via VBA.

https://www.accessforums.net/sample-...tml#post200624

There are other approaches too.

Okay so I see what your saying. In that sample DB there was stuff written in the row source and I have nothing written in mine. However I have no idea what to put in there. I tried to attach my db but apparently it's too big for some reason.